Vista Style Builder

   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Need your help.  (Read 15687 times)
Panda X
Administrator
Dedicated Helper
*****
Posts: 1627



View Profile
« on: October 22, 2009, 11:15:10 pm »

I'm going bug hunting and I need to know of some themes that don't import. (Causes error in MSStyles when testing, etc)

I need a good few to make sure what I find (if I do) isn't everything I'm looking for.

Thanks.
Logged
bhast2
Beta Tester
Dedicated Themer
*
Posts: 177



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2009, 11:23:41 pm »

this one doesn't work

http://x3remes.deviantart.com/art/Latoyce-RC1-b-61254160
Logged
ka-la
Guest
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2009, 08:35:11 am »

http://sunbeam2000.deviantart.com/art/Firedance-1-3-UberShell-137670992
Logged
satukoro
Beta Tester
Dedicated Themer
*
Posts: 139


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2009, 09:14:10 pm »

http://nittiyh.deviantart.com/art/Kiilki-VS-140703440

Also, the function where I was able to navigate with my arrow keys is gone. It makes navigation much slower and infuriating.
Logged
Katsuo
Beginner
*
Posts: 67


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: October 25, 2009, 01:35:36 am »

http://invaderjohn.deviantart.com/art/DEUCE-for-vista-104609483
This one doesn't work either.
Logged
Katsuo
Beginner
*
Posts: 67


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: October 27, 2009, 05:34:06 pm »

http://nittiyh.deviantart.com/art/Kiilki-VS-140703440

Also, the function where I was able to navigate with my arrow keys is gone. It makes navigation much slower and infuriating.

I have news, I succeded in porting this theme, but I had to open Aero.msstyles first and import the whole Startmenu tree to a stylehack, and apply it to the port.
Maybe the import option doesn't translate the startmenu properties correctly..
Logged
iJesse
Beginner
*
Posts: 71


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: October 27, 2009, 05:55:31 pm »

What I have noticed is every style that was made in VSB can't be ported correctly.  Cause all the visual styles I have made in VSB I can't port!
Logged
satukoro
Beta Tester
Dedicated Themer
*
Posts: 139


View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: October 27, 2009, 08:04:48 pm »

What I have noticed is every style that was made in VSB can't be ported correctly.  Cause all the visual styles I have made in VSB I can't port!

That would mean that you aren't making you're themes correctly, because I can port all of my vsb made themes to 7 without error.
Logged
iJesse
Beginner
*
Posts: 71


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: October 27, 2009, 09:35:03 pm »

Then tons of people aren't making them correctly.
Logged
3am
Beta Tester
Dedicated Helper
*
Posts: 2100



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: October 28, 2009, 06:56:53 pm »

So....why does Satukoro's work port and iJesse's doesn't?

They are both first class stylists. So there's gotta be a reason.

I want to know because when I try to port "Dead Vista" to Win7 I hope I don't have to start all over again Sad
Logged
ka-la
Guest
« Reply #10 on: October 28, 2009, 06:59:04 pm »

I can try port it
Logged
ka-la
Guest
« Reply #11 on: October 28, 2009, 07:02:55 pm »

Ok, good news, you dont have to make all over again Smiley
Logged
3am
Beta Tester
Dedicated Helper
*
Posts: 2100



View Profile
« Reply #12 on: October 28, 2009, 07:12:42 pm »

Why won't I? I mean...what determines whether something can be ported or not? Why one and not another?

Thanks for your offer....but it won't be for awhile. Waiting on my "free upgrade" I got after I blew up my computer last summer and had to get a new one Cry
Logged
ka-la
Guest
« Reply #13 on: October 28, 2009, 07:14:22 pm »

Some has parts (values, properties) that doesnt fit to win7. And then it just wont apply.
Logged
3am
Beta Tester
Dedicated Helper
*
Posts: 2100



View Profile
« Reply #14 on: October 28, 2009, 07:25:39 pm »

Thanks again for your help! I was worried.

Maybe somebody should list what properties + values will prevent a VSBmade Vs from porting. Might help some people ( like me) who don't know.
Logged
ka-la
Guest
« Reply #15 on: October 28, 2009, 07:26:27 pm »

Thats why Panda X made this topic, hes tryng to figure out what causes the problems.
Logged
K-Johnson
Beta Tester
Dedicated Themer
*
Posts: 275



View Profile WWW
« Reply #16 on: October 28, 2009, 10:26:37 pm »

My theme has lots of added properties, margin 'hacks', etc. scattered all throughout the theme and I had no problem porting it. Huh?
A lot of the properties in there also don't do anything, but I forgot to delete them after I tested ideas out.
Logged
Panda X
Administrator
Dedicated Helper
*****
Posts: 1627



View Profile
« Reply #17 on: November 06, 2009, 03:02:34 pm »

Progress:
Primary Issue - Start Menu
Logged
3am
Beta Tester
Dedicated Helper
*
Posts: 2100



View Profile
« Reply #18 on: November 06, 2009, 03:24:59 pm »

Anything in particular?
Logged
Panda X
Administrator
Dedicated Helper
*****
Posts: 1627



View Profile
« Reply #19 on: November 06, 2009, 04:03:20 pm »

Anything in particular?
Haven't got it that narrow. There's a possibility it's by the internal code in VSB that helps the start menu be like it was in Vista but we don't know for sure yet.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.12 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!