Vista Style Builder

   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: close / restore / minimize button / Monitor upgrade  (Read 17207 times)
gheepard
Beta Tester
Dedicated Themer
*
Posts: 266


View Profile
« on: January 17, 2015, 08:47:19 pm »

Hello
I upgraded my monitor, from 27" 1920x1080 to 32" 2560x1440
The visual style i use it looks great, except the close / restore / minimize buttons. They are too small now.
So i tried to modify them from the Windows settings, but they look worse ( see attached image, please )
http://postimg.org/image/8xab6bx8l/
My question is : if i try to modify ( make them bigger ) with the software Windows Style Builder, do i have a chance to make those buttons to look better ?!
Thank you
« Last Edit: January 17, 2015, 10:05:25 pm by gheepard » Logged
gheepard
Beta Tester
Dedicated Themer
*
Posts: 266


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2015, 10:56:43 am »

Nobody can't advice me, guys ?
I just want to know how the buttons will look like, if i modify them ( make them a bit bigger ) with Vista Style Builder.
Will they look the same like in the image attached in the first post ?
Thank you
Logged
3am
Beta Tester
Dedicated Helper
*
Posts: 2057



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2015, 02:14:17 pm »

Looks like you are using bigger glyphs now. Likely 120dpi or 144dpi.

Try replacing all of your 120dpi and 144dpi glyph images with your 96dpi glyph images
Logged
gheepard
Beta Tester
Dedicated Themer
*
Posts: 266


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2015, 12:04:28 am »

Actually, i just made a test when i took the printscreen.
I mean, i went to : Control Panel / Personalization / Windows Color / Advanced Appearance settings / Captain buttons / and there i made the buttons a number bigger.
And then i made the printscreen.
As you can see in the first post on this thread, the buttons look ugly
I would try to modify them with Vista Style Builder, but i'm not good at Photoshop / Gimp / so it will take hours to modify those buttons, and i'm not sure if they will look better after i modify them.
3am, you said " Try replacing all of your 120dpi and 144dpi glyph images with your 96dpi glyph images "
You think they will look better / bigger, if i try this ?
How do i replace them ?
Thanks
« Last Edit: January 21, 2015, 12:07:46 am by gheepard » Logged
3am
Beta Tester
Dedicated Helper
*
Posts: 2057



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2015, 12:36:27 am »

After having WSB for 4 years you have never replaced an image by drag/drop or export/import? I guess it's better late than never lol.

By replacing the larger dpi glyphs with the 96dpi ones the new glyphs should fit your buttons.

If you don't know what I mean about glyphs here's a picture:




If you want to make larger button images then learn how to use an image editor.
Logged
gheepard
Beta Tester
Dedicated Themer
*
Posts: 266


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: January 21, 2015, 01:12:27 am »

Do i have to modify all those ???

Windows & Caption Buttons > Aero > DWM Window > Controls > Captions > Window > Close Button > Normal Button > Active > Hot and Pressed
Windows & Caption Buttons > Aero > DWM Window > Controls > Captions > Window > Close Button > Normal Button > Inactive > Hot and Pressed
Windows & Caption Buttons > Aero > DWM Window > Controls > Captions > Window > Close Button > Lone Button > Active > Hot and Pressed
Windows & Caption Buttons > Aero > DWM Window > Controls > Captions > Window > Close Button > Lone Button > Inactive > Hot and Pressed
Windows & Caption Buttons > Aero > DWM Window > Controls > Captions > Window > Restore/Maximize Button > Button > Active > Hot and Pressed
Windows & Caption Buttons > Aero > DWM Window > Controls > Captions > Window > Restore/Maximize Button > Button > Inactive > Hot and Pressed
Windows & Caption Buttons > Aero > DWM Window > Controls > Captions > Window > Minimize/Help Button > Button > Active > Hot and Pressed
Windows & Caption Buttons > Aero > DWM Window > Controls > Captions > Window > Minimize/Help Button > Button > Inactive > Hot and Pressed
Logged
3am
Beta Tester
Dedicated Helper
*
Posts: 2057



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: January 21, 2015, 01:46:06 am »

Yeah.

But you'll notice that, for example, the images for Windows & Caption Buttons > Aero > DWM Window > Controls > Captions > Window > Close Button > Normal Button > Active > Hot, Pressed and Disabled are the same as Windows & Caption Buttons > Aero > DWM Window > Controls > Captions > Window > Close Button > Normal Button > Inactive > Hot, Pressed and Disabled.

So you'd only have to change the images for the active buttons and the inactive > Normal button and then drag/drop or export/import all the other active button state images to replace the other inactive button state images saving yourself a lot of work.

I still think it'd be easier to replace the glyph images but that's up to you. Good luck.
Logged
gheepard
Beta Tester
Dedicated Themer
*
Posts: 266


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: January 21, 2015, 01:57:01 am »

I would replace the glyphs images, but i'm not sure what glyphs images to export and to import
Those buttons are the most difficult part of a visual style, i guess Angry
« Last Edit: January 21, 2015, 02:01:28 am by gheepard » Logged
3am
Beta Tester
Dedicated Helper
*
Posts: 2057



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: January 21, 2015, 04:22:19 am »

Attached is your msstyles with the glyphs fixed. Hope it's what you want
Logged
gheepard
Beta Tester
Dedicated Themer
*
Posts: 266


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: January 21, 2015, 10:10:05 am »

Thank you so much, 3am
I'd really like to know what images did you export / import / replaced
As i said, those buttons i find very very hard to modify. Now i will search on Youtube some videos about how to modify this part of visual style
The green button is not square / quadrat / like the red and the orange one.
http://postimg.org/image/5ydxfboo7/
« Last Edit: January 21, 2015, 10:20:24 am by gheepard » Logged
3am
Beta Tester
Dedicated Helper
*
Posts: 2057



View Profile
« Reply #10 on: January 21, 2015, 02:23:03 pm »

I did exactly what I told you to do with the glyphs. Took 5 minutes.

Ever think of looking for what's different between your old msstyle and the new one?

Your buttons are all the same size. Nothing needs to be fixed.
Logged
gheepard
Beta Tester
Dedicated Themer
*
Posts: 266


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: January 21, 2015, 10:59:32 pm »

Maybe the visual style - green button, was not square before, too, but i didn't notice.
I will try to modify that with Gimp.
There are two minimize buttons locations. Active and inactive, and in both of them there are 4 menus as well : normal, hot, pressed, disabled
Do i have to modify all of them ?
http://postimg.org/image/x8l88nhnf/
« Last Edit: January 21, 2015, 11:26:32 pm by gheepard » Logged
gheepard
Beta Tester
Dedicated Themer
*
Posts: 266


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: September 12, 2015, 10:47:30 pm »

I still use this visual style but it's hard to understand how is it possible to edit the red button ( close button ) to have a " straight X ??
Here is an attached image how it looks now to me
The X is crooked Smiley

http://s000.tinyupload.com/index.php?file_id=35109565358085678940

And here is my visual style :
http://s000.tinyupload.com/index.php?file_id=70460116323529318105

Thank you
Logged
3am
Beta Tester
Dedicated Helper
*
Posts: 2057



View Profile
« Reply #13 on: September 13, 2015, 01:29:58 am »

There's nothing wrong with your button.
« Last Edit: September 14, 2015, 01:43:46 pm by 3am » Logged
gheepard
Beta Tester
Dedicated Themer
*
Posts: 266


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: September 13, 2015, 01:44:19 am »

I tried again to modify it, it looks like this now :
http://www.filedropper.com/dwmwindowclosebuttonactiveimage
Logged
3am
Beta Tester
Dedicated Helper
*
Posts: 2057



View Profile
« Reply #15 on: September 13, 2015, 01:50:23 am »

whatever
« Last Edit: September 13, 2015, 03:32:55 am by 3am » Logged
gheepard
Beta Tester
Dedicated Themer
*
Posts: 266


View Profile
« Reply #16 on: September 13, 2015, 02:20:06 pm »

Thank you
Logged
gheepard
Beta Tester
Dedicated Themer
*
Posts: 266


View Profile
« Reply #17 on: November 21, 2015, 05:54:26 pm »

I wish i could add something like this, for the caption buttons.
Anyone knows how to do that, please ?
Thank you


http://postimg.org/image/651a52mrn/
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.12 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!