Vista Style Builder

   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: COMPLETELY FUCKED UP MY STYLE :((((((((  (Read 10125 times)
JoCe-from-France
Beginner
*
Posts: 55



View Profile
« on: September 12, 2013, 01:11:47 am »

Hi, here's my story :

-I downloaded the latest release : WSB 155

-I opened up my active msstyle & changed INFOBK & INFOTEXT to fix my caption tooltips

-I saved ("apply aero" // "use saved theme")

-then dmw crashed, and all windows that i tried to open (right desktop clik>personalize, configuration panel, explorer) are with nothing inside, only the -classic- frame.

-Then when I tried to rollback, on the parameters that I had changed, to stop the festival, WSB didn't allow me to "open an existing theme" or to save it : SHIIIIT !!

please help!

thx in advance
« Last Edit: October 29, 2013, 05:58:31 pm by JoCe-from-France » Logged
Panda X
Administrator
Dedicated Helper
*****
Posts: 1627



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2013, 01:18:38 am »

What version of Windows are you using? Also attach your theme here.
Logged
JoCe-from-France
Beginner
*
Posts: 55



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2013, 08:41:27 pm »

ok I'm now under aero.msstyles, and another sign of the desease :

the "browse button" to attach file here, as well as in WeTransfer,

in firefox as well as in ie

just like what happened with the "open" or "save" button inside WSB

don't work no more  Huh?

 Cry Cry Cry

ps : I'm under windows seven
Logged
Panda X
Administrator
Dedicated Helper
*****
Posts: 1627



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2013, 08:57:15 pm »

Are you using Resource Spy or custom dlls? WSB still applies themes the same way, which is also the same way as the control panel. If you applied Aero then it's not your theme that's causing the errors.

Have you restarted explorer/windows?
Logged
JoCe-from-France
Beginner
*
Posts: 55



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2013, 09:05:47 pm »

I'm using resource spy, but not anymore with aero right now...

I've hard-charged some dll yes, like explorerframe. I don't know if there also can be a pb with shellstyle... I'm totally knocked out with what's happening to me.

Jus wanted to change two values. No backup (fuck me!)

And now I'm like a 9 years old kid in front of a fully infected OS lol

I want to cry
Logged
3am
Beta Tester
Dedicated Helper
*
Posts: 2127



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: September 12, 2013, 09:13:19 pm »

Everything was working right before you made just those two changes in the msstyles?

Either attach or pm me your msstyles and I'll see what happens when I use it
Logged
JoCe-from-France
Beginner
*
Posts: 55



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: September 12, 2013, 09:24:35 pm »

hello 3am!

Yes : I changed INFOBK & INFOTEXT with WSB 155
My style is was a base based one made with 1503

I'm gonna send you that with ms outlook since it's the only way I can attach something to a message.

Thx for you kind assistance  Embarrassed
« Last Edit: September 12, 2013, 09:46:30 pm by JoCe-from-France » Logged
Panda X
Administrator
Dedicated Helper
*****
Posts: 1627



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: September 12, 2013, 10:48:31 pm »

It looks like DWMWindow class became severely messed up, not entirely sure how as I've replaced that class with the default and it works fine.

The one I attached below should work ok, though any changes you made to DWMWindow will be undone.
Logged
JoCe-from-France
Beginner
*
Posts: 55



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: September 12, 2013, 11:19:36 pm »

Yea thanks for having spotted this issue, but :

I've copy pasted it in my ressource folder (after having renamed the extension of the corrupted one) then I lauched the theme that activates it : it has worked fine until :

I turned on the replacer, then the next window I opened has shown nothing in it : completely white : (

So :
-turned of the replacer : open another window nothing change
-killed explorer
-killed dmw

-relaunched explorer : still the same !
-...
-restart computer : still the same : white windows

I didn't even opened it in WSB !!!

$***t !!! whats wrong with me !!

edit : I now can open things, including in WSB : the browse windows popups (but lot of stuff missing : right panel, topview...)  Huh?



edit 2 : almost self explanatory bonus pictures :



After having broken my ass for nights during years on this baby, I thing I've not finished to sware on myself for not having done a f**** backup before doing $*****!

Good night !

EDIT later : ok, I see in WSB that all the <shellstyle> section had been droped out... it could explain a few things
« Last Edit: September 13, 2013, 12:04:29 am by JoCe-from-France » Logged
Panda X
Administrator
Dedicated Helper
*****
Posts: 1627



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: September 13, 2013, 12:20:20 am »

The issue is coming from either your theme's shellstyle.dll or some mod you're using in Resource Spy. Are you using a custom Shellstyle.dll? If so can you send it to me?
Logged
JoCe-from-France
Beginner
*
Posts: 55



View Profile
« Reply #10 on: September 13, 2013, 12:30:27 am »

ok I put it down here, I think it's the "base ready" one.
that's the folder in the same dir that the .msstyle
not the same as the "test mode" one, if I have correctly understood, which is in the %temp% dir ...

thx

If we manage to rescue it, I promise I'll release it, with the windowframe, and all the solid .dll replacements x86 & x64 properly organised and ready to use !!!
« Last Edit: September 13, 2013, 12:34:44 am by JoCe-from-France » Logged
3am
Beta Tester
Dedicated Helper
*
Posts: 2127



View Profile
« Reply #11 on: September 13, 2013, 01:15:24 am »

I used the Base shell and explorer died. Replaced it in your theme folder with a default shell everything's fine:



So use a default shellstyle and make whatever changes you made in Base there instead. And clean up your DWM
Logged
JoCe-from-France
Beginner
*
Posts: 55



View Profile
« Reply #12 on: September 13, 2013, 01:23:07 am »

YEA COOL!

Sure I'll do this or ... would bring back the whole <shellstyle> tree of the f****d up msstyle into the PandaX DMW cleaned up msstyles perhaps...
Logged
Panda X
Administrator
Dedicated Helper
*****
Posts: 1627



View Profile
« Reply #13 on: September 13, 2013, 01:30:19 am »

Converted back to Base. Attached.

Let me know if there's still issues I'm not entirely convinced that exporting to Stylehack works as it should.
Logged
JoCe-from-France
Beginner
*
Posts: 55



View Profile
« Reply #14 on: September 13, 2013, 01:53:34 am »

thanks for the try, but saddly it doesn't do it  : /

sorry




But thanks guys, You put me on the way, now I think it's up to me, I 'm now must resolve this shellstyle issue, than make it back as cool as it used to be ;,(

I'll give update right here!

thx A lot !!!!
« Last Edit: September 13, 2013, 02:02:01 am by JoCe-from-France » Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.12 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!