Vista Style Builder

   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: bitmap  (Read 10320 times)
Bongo
Beta Tester
Dedicated Themer
*
Posts: 227



View Profile
« on: August 21, 2011, 12:05:17 am »

I have been trying to edit/create some bitmap images for shell32.dll
#632, 633, 634, 635, and 700 I am using gimp after I have changed the color
I save them as .bmp  put them in the .dll then I changed the .dll like I have before
but they don't work. When the control panel opens nothing will be listed same way
 if I open the update window the left side is not there. So is there a special way to make
a bitmap image?
Thank you
Jerry
Logged
3am
Beta Tester
Dedicated Helper
*
Posts: 2097



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2011, 12:08:55 am »

Make sure they are 32 bit bitmaps

Here's one way: convert the bmp to a png. Save it in mspaint. It will always be saved as a 32 bit png. Now go back and convert back to bmp and you will have a 32 bit bmp Smiley

This is an online converter I use all the time:  http://www.coolutils.com/Online/Image-Converter/
« Last Edit: August 21, 2011, 12:19:04 am by 3am » Logged
Bongo
Beta Tester
Dedicated Themer
*
Posts: 227



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2011, 02:12:25 am »

Thanks for the reply but I still can't seem to get it.
I took the original bitmaps open them in mspaint color them save them as a png
on the desktop  then put them back in mspaint save them as bmp on the desktop and I have
been using Resource Spy to try them and it does not work, I know Resource Spy is working
because I have image #632, 633 from one of Dave's themes and it works.
A while back I made my own navigation buttons that are bitmaps in Explorerframe.dll and they work
great is there a difference in bitmaps?
Thank you
Jerry
here's what I get

Logged
3am
Beta Tester
Dedicated Helper
*
Posts: 2097



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2011, 02:28:36 am »

 No, do this:

1) Convert the bmp to a png using the online converter
2) Save the png in paint. It is now 32 bit png
3) Convert the png to bmp using the online converter. It is now a 32 bit bmp. Check it to make sure.
4) Now copy and paste it into shell32 with Restorator. Or test it in ResSpy.

This will work. I do it all the time.

Wait a minute. You have no top or side panels at all?  Maybe your problem is that your bitmaps are the wrong size ( stick close to the default dimensions).
« Last Edit: August 21, 2011, 03:29:38 am by 3am » Logged
Bongo
Beta Tester
Dedicated Themer
*
Posts: 227



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 21, 2011, 05:51:08 am »

No, do this:

1) Convert the bmp to a png using the online converter
2) Save the png in paint. It is now 32 bit png
3) Convert the png to bmp using the online converter. It is now a 32 bit bmp. Check it to make sure.
4) Now copy and paste it into shell32 with Restorator. Or test it in ResSpy.

This will work. I do it all the time.

Wait a minute. You have no top or side panels at all?  Maybe your problem is that your bitmaps are the wrong size ( stick close to the default dimensions).
You're way worked thanks for the tip.
Those images of the control panel are from my laptop (64 bit) trying to use Resource Spy even after converting them you're way Res Spy still did not work but the shell32.dll worked fine in my desktop maybe I need to download Ras Spy again.
And I did use the same dimensions
That the same way it looked the 1st time I tried changing shell32 before converting them you're way on my desktop (32bit) to.
Thank You 3am
Jerry
Logged
Panda X
Administrator
Dedicated Helper
*****
Posts: 1627



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: August 21, 2011, 02:12:22 pm »

You're way worked thanks for the tip.
Those images of the control panel are from my laptop (64 bit) trying to use Resource Spy even after converting them you're way Res Spy still did not work but the shell32.dll worked fine in my desktop maybe I need to download Ras Spy again.
And I did use the same dimensions
That the same way it looked the 1st time I tried changing shell32 before converting them you're way on my desktop (32bit) to.
Thank You 3am
Jerry

Did you convert the image to binary using reshacker?
Logged
3am
Beta Tester
Dedicated Helper
*
Posts: 2097



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: August 21, 2011, 03:08:55 pm »

Did you convert the image to binary using reshacker?

Yeah he renamed the bmps as bins without saving them as bins in Reshack before using them in ResSpy and therefore lost the panels when he tested. Nice call Panda.

« Last Edit: August 21, 2011, 03:12:25 pm by 3am » Logged
Bongo
Beta Tester
Dedicated Themer
*
Posts: 227



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: August 21, 2011, 04:47:00 pm »

Yeah he renamed the bmps as bins without saving them as bins in Reshack before using them in ResSpy and therefore lost the panels when he tested. Nice call Panda.

Thanks Panda you're right I needed to read more on how to use it  Embarrassed  I will be giving it a try in
a little bit.
Logged
Bongo
Beta Tester
Dedicated Themer
*
Posts: 227



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: August 21, 2011, 08:42:24 pm »

Panda X & 3am Thank You just followed the Guide on Res Spy
Now I need slapped up side the head for not reading it the 1st time  Tongue
I am 1 of those guys that read the instructions after it don't work.
Thanks for your time
Jerry
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.12 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!