Vista Style Builder

   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Background color for area on control panel ?  (Read 7786 times)
undine
Beginner
*
Posts: 33


View Profile
« on: April 25, 2010, 04:13:47 pm »

Can anyone tell me the route to the background color of the area toward the top of the control panel which contains " Adjust Your Computer's Settings " ? THANKS , Undine.
Logged
3am
Beta Tester
Dedicated Helper
*
Posts: 2106



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2010, 04:55:24 pm »

shell32.dll. Bitmaps 634 & 635.
Logged
undine
Beginner
*
Posts: 33


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2010, 05:28:48 pm »

THANKS very much , 3am ,
I see why I could not find it. I don't know if I want to try this change or not.What does it take to open a .dll file? Thank you for your quick reply. Best wishes , Undine.
Logged
3am
Beta Tester
Dedicated Helper
*
Posts: 2106



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2010, 06:04:00 pm »

You use a resource editor like Restorator or Resource Hacker 3.5 Beta.

You go to Shell32.dll in your System32 folder. If you use Restorator you Extract the bitmaps to your desktop. Open the bitmaps in your image editor. Save your changes. Now copy and paste your new bitmaps on to the old ones via Restorator. Save as Shell32.dll to your desktop. Now you have a new Shell32 with your bitmaps.

I would also do bitmaps 632 & 633 which are the left panel in the Control Panel screens.

The bitmaps must be 32 bit bitmaps. I usually convert the bmps to pngs using an online convertor. Then I save the pngs in MSPaint which will automatically convert them to 32 bit pngs. Then I go back to the online convertor and convert the pngs back to bmps. Now I have 32 bit bitmaps. There's probably easier ways, but this way works.

This is the online convertor I use:  http://www.coolutils.com/Online/Image-Converter/
« Last Edit: April 26, 2010, 07:13:05 pm by 3am » Logged
undine
Beginner
*
Posts: 33


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 25, 2010, 06:52:05 pm »

3am, Thanks for the info. Just one more question, if I were to change the system32.dll as needed, would this change be transported along in a .themepack file so as to be seen on another computer ? Have a great day. Undine.
Logged
3am
Beta Tester
Dedicated Helper
*
Posts: 2106



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: April 25, 2010, 07:29:10 pm »

It would be one of the System Files that you would include along with your Theme Folder and .theme file.

They would have to replace it themselves to use it.
Logged
undine
Beginner
*
Posts: 33


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: April 25, 2010, 07:39:40 pm »

OK, 3am, THANKS for all your help to me and others. CU, Undine.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.12 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!