Vista Style Builder

   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: VSB Just died on me.  (Read 13643 times)
Panda X
Administrator
Dedicated Helper
*****
Posts: 1627



View Profile
« on: March 29, 2010, 03:50:25 am »

http://www.screencast.com/users/ThePanda/folders/Jing/media/69e97247-10a4-4378-a17c-565a8f1e0ec8

No idea what happened here. But nothing is fixing it.

Also when using the arrow keys on the tree during this bug, every window (yes every last window), has a refresh/redraw effect. It started to give me a headache Sad



My microphone was off. Since it was off you can listen to me click and type and listen to Nick Swardson do standup.
« Last Edit: March 29, 2010, 04:00:43 am by Panda X » Logged
3am
Beta Tester
Dedicated Helper
*
Posts: 2100



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2010, 08:15:57 pm »

1.5.0.5?  New Version?

What's that "Unknown" at the bottom of Vista Legacy? And that "Win 7 Mode" message. And the Details > Search Label. Never saw these.

Looks experimental. Back to the drawing board I guess Tongue
« Last Edit: March 29, 2010, 08:22:59 pm by 3am » Logged
Panda X
Administrator
Dedicated Helper
*****
Posts: 1627



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2010, 08:20:32 pm »

1.5.0.5?  New Version?

What's that "Unknown" at the bottom of Vista Legacy? And that "Win 7 Mode" message. Never saw these.

Looks experimental. Back to the drawing board I guess Tongue

I don't know what's different in 1.5.0.5. I had it since October 22nd, 2009 @ 7:35PM EST. I think it was just a fix for the debug version.

Unknown is what I use for newer or leaked (or old beta) msstyles to see if there are new classes.

Windows 7 Mode button allows me to load Vista's XMLs in Windows 7. If Vista's are loaded that button says Vista Mode.
Logged
3am
Beta Tester
Dedicated Helper
*
Posts: 2100



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2010, 09:10:47 pm »

You've been doing a lot of XML coding ( I can see at least one result in your tree). Could a mistake possibly have snowballed into all your problems?
Logged
Panda X
Administrator
Dedicated Helper
*****
Posts: 1627



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2010, 10:53:07 pm »

You've been doing a lot of XML coding ( I can see at least one result in your tree). Could a mistake possibly have snowballed into all your problems?
If there's an error in the XMLs it just lists all the classes.

Ex: http://www.cubeupload.com/files/26e00vsbnoxml.png
Logged
AndreasV
Administrator
Dedicated Themer
*****
Posts: 158


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: March 30, 2010, 04:04:52 am »

Hmmm... might be an XML problem I guess.. I'll debug it tomorrow!
Logged
Panda X
Administrator
Dedicated Helper
*****
Posts: 1627



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: March 30, 2010, 03:14:38 pm »

Hmmm... might be an XML problem I guess.. I'll debug it tomorrow!
I had finished the XMLs way before this and they worked fine. Last thing I did was export all stylehacks to their own msstyle and save them. That worked fine until I was done. I clicked Open > Start New... and hasn't worked since.
Logged
3am
Beta Tester
Dedicated Helper
*
Posts: 2100



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: March 31, 2010, 03:03:03 pm »

Just some dumb questions I have after watching your vid. Nothing that'll help you.

1) What's "Reload"?
2) Why is your "Current Search Type" value different then mine ( mine equals 4). What does this mean anyway?
3) All your "Normal Positions" are way different than mine too. How come?
4) What is the Vista.msstyles you have in your X and D drives?
5) Why do the StyleHacks have to have their own msstyles?
6) What happened when you reinstalled 1.5.0.5?
7) Does this happen on 1.5.0.3?

Humor me OK?
Logged
Panda X
Administrator
Dedicated Helper
*****
Posts: 1627



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: March 31, 2010, 03:49:47 pm »

Just some dumb questions I have after watching your vid. Nothing that'll help you.

1) What's "Reload"?
2) Why is your "Current Search Type" value different then mine ( mine equals 4). What does this mean anyway?
3) All your "Normal Positions" are way different than mine too. How come?
4) What is the Vista.msstyles you have in your X and D drives?
5) Why do the StyleHacks have to have their own msstyles?
6) What happened when you reinstalled 1.5.0.5?
7) Does this happen on 1.5.0.3?

Humor me OK?


1) Reloads the XMLs so when I edit them I don't have to restart the program.
2) Current search type is whatever's selected in the searchbox options.
3) Because my window is located and sized differently than yours.
4) The one on my X: drive is what I use to load in VSB when in Vista Mode.
5) I was in the middle of creating new ones for 7. I ran difftool on them but when I went to go make the changes and export them to new .stylehacks VSB died.
6) I only ever use ZIP archives. It wouldn't change anything.
7) I don't know. This is the first time I ever seen it happen or heard of it happening. But since 1.5.0.3 and 1.5.0.5 are identical (except in debug) I guess it's there.

OK.

On an off-note: AveStyle 0.1 (VSB 0.1) works: http://www.cubeupload.com/files/e88800avestyle01.png
« Last Edit: March 31, 2010, 04:09:52 pm by Panda X » Logged
3am
Beta Tester
Dedicated Helper
*
Posts: 2100



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: March 31, 2010, 05:00:11 pm »

Thanks for taking the time to answer.

Stylehacks that work in 7 is something to look forward to.

VSB 0.1! I never saw it. You have come a long way in just 18 months!

Can't wait for 1.6.
Logged
Panda X
Administrator
Dedicated Helper
*****
Posts: 1627



View Profile
« Reply #10 on: March 31, 2010, 05:20:07 pm »

Thanks for taking the time to answer.

Stylehacks that work in 7 is something to look forward to.

VSB 0.1! I never saw it. You have come a long way in just 18 months!

Can't wait for 1.6.

That build is 22 months old. Or 1 year, 9 months, 4 weeks, 2 days
Logged
AndreasV
Administrator
Dedicated Themer
*****
Posts: 158


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: March 31, 2010, 09:08:06 pm »

I suspect a problem in the XML handling code in VSB, can you e-mail me the XMLs Panda?
Logged
Panda X
Administrator
Dedicated Helper
*****
Posts: 1627



View Profile
« Reply #12 on: March 31, 2010, 09:10:03 pm »

I suspect a problem in the XML handling code in VSB, can you e-mail me the XMLs Panda?
Sent.
Logged
Panda X
Administrator
Dedicated Helper
*****
Posts: 1627



View Profile
« Reply #13 on: April 01, 2010, 06:52:10 am »



It's deteriorating D:
Logged
3am
Beta Tester
Dedicated Helper
*
Posts: 2100



View Profile
« Reply #14 on: April 02, 2010, 07:21:58 pm »

So...what happened?
Logged
Panda X
Administrator
Dedicated Helper
*****
Posts: 1627



View Profile
« Reply #15 on: April 02, 2010, 09:12:03 pm »

So...what happened?

No clue.
Logged
Panda X
Administrator
Dedicated Helper
*****
Posts: 1627



View Profile
« Reply #16 on: April 05, 2010, 03:58:22 am »

You've been doing a lot of XML coding ( I can see at least one result in your tree). Could a mistake possibly have snowballed into all your problems?
Apparently this is true.

Also moving with the arrow keys spikes all 4 cores to 90%+. The odd part is when I do that, all windows shown spike in CPU usage. And if I do it long enough all windows stop refreshing and hang until I stop.
« Last Edit: April 05, 2010, 05:32:00 am by Panda X » Logged
Panda X
Administrator
Dedicated Helper
*****
Posts: 1627



View Profile
« Reply #17 on: April 06, 2010, 09:08:23 pm »

Fixed it. (Well technically I didn't) But the localizations caused this.
Logged
3am
Beta Tester
Dedicated Helper
*
Posts: 2100



View Profile
« Reply #18 on: April 06, 2010, 10:26:30 pm »

So i go Google "localizations" because I'm too stupid to know what you're talking about.

Lots of stuff about adapting software between different languages. And this: "Imposing some physical order upon a set of objects, so that a given object has a greater probability of being in some particular regions of space than in others".

Now how does that translate into your XML coding, creating new states, renaming them, "localizing" them into the new WSB 1.6 tree?

Sounds like you were putting some stuff where they shouldn't have been put. Building faulty structures with misused materials.

What bad detail caused the whole thing to collapse?

« Last Edit: April 06, 2010, 10:43:28 pm by 3am » Logged
Panda X
Administrator
Dedicated Helper
*****
Posts: 1627



View Profile
« Reply #19 on: April 06, 2010, 11:06:27 pm »

So i go Google "localizations" because I'm too stupid to know what you're talking about.

Lots of stuff about adapting software between different languages. And this: "Imposing some physical order upon a set of objects, so that a given object has a greater probability of being in some particular regions of space than in others".

Now how does that translate into your XML coding, creating new states, renaming them, "localizing" them into the new WSB 1.6 tree?

Sounds like you were putting some stuff where they shouldn't have been put. Building faulty structures with misused materials.

What bad detail caused the whole thing to collapse?



Has nothing to do with the XMLs as they're always English. The localizations have to do with overriding those buttons/dialogs/etc in another language.
Logged
3am
Beta Tester
Dedicated Helper
*
Posts: 2100



View Profile
« Reply #20 on: April 07, 2010, 01:31:55 am »

RIP 3AM:

Logged
Panda X
Administrator
Dedicated Helper
*****
Posts: 1627



View Profile
« Reply #21 on: April 07, 2010, 01:44:14 am »

RIP 3AM:


What.
Logged
3am
Beta Tester
Dedicated Helper
*
Posts: 2100



View Profile
« Reply #22 on: April 07, 2010, 06:32:32 pm »




Never mind.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.12 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!